Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


You are here: Home / News / Archive / Abagold - SA's top Export Company

Abagold - SA's top Export Company

Abagold, one of the Overstrand's most prestigious companies, won the SA Premier Business Award in the Export category on Wednesday evening the 20th of March 2013. This was the inaugural event hosted by Dr Rob Davies, Minister of Trade and Industry and attended by 2000 guests at the Sandton Convention Centre.
Abagold - SA's top Export Company

MD Christo du Plessis with the SA Premier Business Award

"I am very proud to have been able to receive the award on behalf of the Abagold team. This is a very prestigious award and certainly the biggest we have received to date," said Christo du Plessis, Managing Director of Abagold.

The awards aim to recognise South African companies that invest in both human and technical resources in various projects as well as stimulate local job creation and broader participation in the economy. In his opening address at the awards, Trade and Industry Minister, Rob Davies, said the SA Premier Business Awards provided a platform for recognition of achievement in business “These awards are of value in particular because they give companies recognition and that recognition, we hope, passes on in some kind of tangible commercial reputational benefit can be significant for companies in enhancing their position in the market,” said Davies.

Entry form submissions for the awards closed in mid-February. A total 159 entries were received while a 12 member judging panel comprising of various role players from business and labour as well as the department among others, were responsible for selecting the winners. The adjudication process concluded in March.

The awards, said Davies, were an amalgamation of previous award ceremonies. He said with such an award ceremony “we can serve to encourage much more entrepreneurial efforts in the society as a whole”.

The awards were held in partnership with Proudly South African and Brand South Africa.

Our Presenters
Mhlangabezi Sithonga
Adrian Louw
André Vaynol
David Lowe
Nelia Louw
Janet Marshall
Toekie Oberholzer
Pieter van Aswegen
Mik Long
Master Blaq
Daniel Morake
Bongo Mandoyi
Manie Kitching
Michael Range
Miranda Savage
Stoffel su Toit
Anne Krebs
Heidi Scrooby
Contact Us

Whale Coast Media

Gateway Centre, Hermanus, 7200

PO Box 79, Kleinmond 7195

T: (028) 312 2314

F: (086) 545-6903


Facebook Like Box