Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


You are here: Home / News / Latest News / How the Overstrand Voted

How the Overstrand Voted

Over ten thousand voters did not vote in last week’s elections in the Overstrand.

Dayne Elizabeth Nel

There are 49 699 voters registered in the Overtstrand, but only 38 615 managed to make it to the polls last Wednesday. 

A total of 287 votes were spoilt. 

The DA managed to maintain their stronghold in most of the wards in the Overstrand except Ward 5, 6 and 12 in Zwelihle and Ward 1 encompassing Kleinbaai, Franskraal and Masekhane. 

The DA’s strongest constituency is Ward 3, where they received in excess of 90% of the votes. 

The other parties received only155 votes collectively.

The EFF received 564 votes, or 1.47% of the total votes in the Overstrand. 

Hawston is the closest contested area and should prove interesting to watch in the municipal elections. 

The DA walked away with 49.44% of the votes in Hawston with the ANC hot on their blue heels with 40.41%. 

Voter turn-out within the four municipality in the Overberg were as follows: 

  • Overstrand - 78%
  • Cape Agulhas - 73%
  • Swellendam - 70%
  • Theewaterskloof - 69%
Our Presenters
Mhlangabezi Sithonga
Adrian Louw
André Vaynol
David Lowe
Nelia Louw
Janet Marshall
Toekie Oberholzer
Pieter van Aswegen
Mik Long
Master Blaq
Daniel Morake
Bongo Mandoyi
Manie Kitching
Michael Range
Miranda Savage
Stoffel su Toit
Anne Krebs
Heidi Scrooby
Contact Us

Whale Coast Media

Gateway Centre, Hermanus, 7200

PO Box 79, Kleinmond 7195

T: (028) 312 2314

F: (086) 545-6903


Facebook Like Box